LARGE CASH PRIZES are overrated, what you need is pride in your work, the feeling of accomplishment and shiny medals that say “Science” on them.  Here are the categories you can “medal up” in:

The Cartrawler Data Award
(most unique, unexpected, delightful or just plain interesting use of data)

The TOG Hackerspace Best Use of a Rubber Duck Award
(best project that uses a rubber duck, exhibits the essence of a rubber duck, or is just a rubber duck)

• The Engineers Ireland Hardware Award
(just plain coolest mostly-hardware-based hack)

• The Axonista Design Award
(most awesome design)

• The ChainSmiths Education Award
(best project promoting education or can be used as an educational tool)

People’s Choice Award sponsored by Dublin Maker
(most popular vote by all attendees)

• Best in Show sponsored by Intel
(most popular vote by all judges)



Claire O’Connell – Irish Science Writer of the Year 2016. PhD cell biology, Masters science communication, journalist, contributing to The Irish Times and Silicon Republic.

Niamh Scanlon – EU digital girl of the year.

Ann O’Dea – CEO and co-founder of Silicon Republic and founder of Inspirefest, a unique sci-tech event.

Tracy Keogh – Bank of Ireland, Startlab Programme Manager

Andreea Wade – Now building AI. Organised music fests & tech events, built products, mentored & lectured in the past. Community person. Transylvanian.

Vicky Twomey-lee – A Pythonista. A coder, a tech event organiser advocating diversity in tech & a cat hugger.

Eventbrite - Science Hack Day Dublin 2016

Our Sponsors

Adamantium Level Platinum Level
Gold Level
Spirit Level

Our Friends